Skip to main content

Justin Trudeau, MP

Search justintrudeau.liberal.ca

A message from your Member of Parliament

Posted on May 17, 2013

First of all, I want to thank you for your continued support – especially these past months as I shared with thousands of Canadians our story, the story of Papineau. To only name a few, I have spoken about openness, transparency, hard work, citizen engagement, and community based solutions. Essentially, I spoke about the values of our community. I proudly remain your Member of Parliament, and always at your service.

Important issues dominated my discussions with citizens, including the electoral district redistributions such as the riding of Papineau, the government’s poor management of Citizenship and Immigration Canada, and the changes to Employment Insurance.

Last July, following a meeting with Jacques Beaudoin of the Mouvement Action Chômage , I wrote a letter to the minister responsible for Employment Insurance, Mrs. Diane Finley. I expressed my concerns regarding the proposed changes, and shared possible solutions. This letter remains unanswered. Despite the silence and closure of the Harper government, I am committed to ending the recently imposed changes and even see the program improved. Workers alone contribute to the EI program, and to treat all recipients as fraudsters is unacceptable. We can make Employment Insurance fairer.

This past year, I have been particularly interested by the electoral redistribution file. In order to provide a more balanced representation of people and communities in Parliament, The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Quebec proposes new electoral boundaries every ten years. Following the 2012 national census, the Commission examined the demographic changes since the last redistribution and proposed a new map of all ridings.

In October 2012, in from the Boundaries Commission, I presented my proposition for Papineau: include the totality of the neighbourhoods Park – Extension, Villeray, and François – Perreault into a single federal constituency. These three neighbourhoods each represent individual sociological and economic realities, as well as share municipal and provincial services, such as three CLSCs, the CDEC, provincial MNAs, and municipal councilors.

The Commission’s final report was tabled in the House of Commons on February 25 th 2013, and I am glad to say they accepted my proposition for Papineau. Subject to approval by a majority of Members in the House in a few months, the boundaries of the constituency will be as follows: the western border will be Acadie Boulevard, and the eastern will be 24 th Avenue. Going West to East, the southern border streets will be Beaumont, Jean – Talon until Papineau, then Bélanger; Highway 40 will run as the northern border until Papineau, where Jarry will proceed going East.

Since 2006, the Conservative Government has made significant changes to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. They claim to have created a ―fast and flexible‖ system. However, the hundreds of files (plus the thousands we’ve dealt with since 2008) my office is currently assisting tell us differently. File processing times keep getting longer. In Montréal, for example, a citizenship application can take between 23 and 45 months before receiving an answer. If for any reason, Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) have questions regarding a file the wait can be even longer. This without warning, information, or details from CIC. As with many other circumstances when dealing with the Federal Government, it is important to communicate with my office. Although I cannot accelerate the processing of files, I can keep you informed on the status of your request. Furthermore, when necessary, I can help facilitate communications with CIC.

As such, our work together continues. Even with the approach of the summer months, my office will remain open, and I will be at your disposal. Otherwise, I hope to see you at the many summer events across the riding, such as the Fête Nationale du Québec, on the steps of Église St – Cécile, on the corner of Henri – Julien and de Castelnau on June 24 th .

See you soon,

Justin P.J. Trudeau

Member of Parliament

Liberal Statement on the Closing of the 2012 Summer Paralympic Games

Posted on September 9, 2012

For Immediate Release
September 9, 2012

MONTRÉAL— Liberal Post Secondary Education, Youth and Amateur Sport critic Justin Trudeau made the following statement today on the closing of the Summer Paralympic Games in London:

“As the Games conclude and our athletes return home, they should feel great pride in their accomplishments. Team Canada inspired us with their resilience and determination, finding great success, achieving personal bests and reaching the podium.

At this summer’s Paralympic Games, our athletes demonstrated to the world the kind of competitive spirit and dedication that comes with representing Canada.

On behalf of the Liberal Party of Canada and our Parliamentary Caucus, I would like to congratulate all of our athletes and thank the organizers, coaches and volunteers who made these games so memorable.”

Liberal Statement on the Opening of the 2012 Summer Olympic Games

Posted on July 28, 2012
For Immediate Release
July 27, 2012

 

MONTREAL—Liberal Post Secondary Education, Youth and Amateur Sport critic Justin Trudeau made the following statement today on the opening of the Summer Olympic Games in London:“As our Olympic team enters the stadium, led by flag-bearer Simon Whitfield, for today’s opening ceremonies, Canada will be watching with great pride. We know what our Olympic athletes give to be a part of this moment—the commitment, the dedication and the years of training. And we know that they are ready to show the world what Canada is made of.

As we wait for the events to begin, we eagerly anticipate the stories to be written by our athletes, the stories of adversity and triumph that bring all Canadians together and make the Olympic Games so special.

On behalf of the Liberal Party of Canada and our Parliamentary Caucus, I would like to extend our appreciation to the hundreds of coaches, organizers and volunteers and wish all of our over 270 athletes the best of luck. See you on the podium!”

Happy Fête Nationale and Happy Canada Day!

Posted on June 28, 2012

As the summer season starts, I would like to wish all of you a great Fête  Nationale and Happy Canada Day!

Read more

Canada to scrap one avenue for refugees

Posted on April 10, 2011

Critics say move will force asylum-seekers to use human-smugglers By Elizabeth Thompson, iPolitics.ca March 21, 2011 6:02 AM Immigration Minister Jason Kenney has put forward a […]

Read more

Justin Trudeau takes Jason Kenney to task for alleged abuse of ministerial office

Posted on March 25, 2011

Jane Taber Globe and Mail Update Posted on Tuesday, March 8, 2011 1:38PM EST Justin Trudeau wants Elections Canada to investigate Immigration Minister Jason Kenney, alleging […]

Read more

Conservatives break promise to new Canadians by cutting family reunification

Posted on March 25, 2011

OTTAWA – The Harper Conservatives are systematically turning their backs on new Canadians by cutting back family reunification visas and preventing families from reuniting in Canada, […]

Read more

Your riding office for the MP for Papineau is moving.

Posted on January 28, 2011

Your riding office for the MP for Papineau is moving. Please come and see us at: 529 Jarry Street East, suite 302 Montreal Quebec H2P 1V4

Read more

A Messsage From Justin Trudeau

Posted on December 15, 2010

Read more

Justin Trudeau à l’Université Laval

Posted on December 3, 2010

Agence QMI Geneviève Lajoie 02/12/2010 22h02 QUÉBEC — Pour le député fédéral libéral Justin Trudeau, quand on parle d’identité, on ne devrait pas avoir à choisir […]

Read more

Flickr

Next »

Contact us

Riding Office
529, rue Jarry est, bureau 302
Montréal (Québec) H2P 1V4
T: (514) 277-6020
E: trudeau.j@parl.gc.ca

Skip to main content

Justin Trudeau, député

Search justintrudeau.liberal.ca

Un message de votre député

Posted on 17 mai 2013

D‟abord, permettez – moi de vous remercier de votre soutien continu, et ce, particulièrement ces derniers mois alors que je partageais avec des milliers de Canadiens notre histoire, l‟histoire de Papineau. J‟ai parlé d‟ouverture, de transparence, de travail, d‟engagement citoyen, de solutions basées sur le communautaire, pour ne nommer que ceux – là. En somme, j‟ai parlé des valeurs de chez nous, de notre communauté, car demeure fièrement votre député et toujours à votre service.

Des enjeux importants ont dominé mes conversations avec les Canadiens: la redistribution des circonscriptions électorales dont Papineau, les trébuchements dans la gestion des programmes de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, ainsi que les changements déplorables à l‟assurance emploi.

En juillet dernier, suite à une discussion avec Jacques Beaudoin du Mouvement Action Chômage, j‟ai fait parvenir une lettre à la ministre responsable de l‟assurance emploi, Mme Diane Finley, pour lui partager mes inquiétudes par rapport aux changements proposés, ainsi que pour lui proposer des pistes de solutions. À ce jour, aucune réponse n‟a été donnée. Malgré le silence et la fermeture du gouvernement Harper, je m‟engage à travailler pour annuler les changements et améliorer le programme d‟assurance – emploi. Les travailleurs ne devraient pas être traités comme des fraudeurs lorsqu‟ils appliquent au programme, après tout, ce sont eux qui y ont contribué. Il est possible de rendre le programme plus juste et je compte bien y travailler.

Dans la dernière année, j‟ai été particulièrement intéressé par le dossier de la redistribution électorale. Dans le but de permettre une représentation plus équilibrée des populations et des communautés au Parlement, la Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales fédérales pour le Québec propose de nouvelles limites des circonscriptions tous les 10 ans. Après la parution des résultats du dernier recensement national, la Commission analyse les changements démographiques survenus depuis le dernier redécoupage et propose une nouvelle carte de toutes les circonscriptions.

En octobre 2012, j‟ai présenté devant la Commission ma proposition pour Papineau ; rassembler les quartiers Parc – Extension, Villeray, et François – Perreault dans une circonscription fédérale. L‟argument est simple, ces trois quartiers représentent chacun une réalité sociologique et économique ainsi qu‟une cohérence en matière de services publics municipaux et provinciaux, tels que les trois CLSC, la CDEC, les députés provinciaux, et les conseillers municipaux.

Le rapport final de la Commission fut déposé à la Chambre des communes le 25 février dernier et je suis heureux qu‟ils aient accepté ma proposition pour la circonscription. Si approuvé par la majorité des députés à la Chambre des communes, les limites de la circonscription seront les suivantes : boulevard de l‟Acadie à l‟ouest; la 24 e Avenue à l‟est; allant de l‟ouest en est, les rues au sud sont Beaumont, Jean – Talon, et à Papineau, Bélanger; pour le nord : l‟autoroute 40 jusqu‟à Papineau, pour ensuite suivre Jarry est jusqu‟à la frontière de l‟est.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Conservateur apporte des changements importants dans la loi sur l‟immigration et la protection des réfugiés. Ils se targuent d‟avoir créé un système « rapide et souple ». Cependant, les centaines de dossiers que nous suivons actuellement (en plus des milliers de dossiers que mon bureau a traités depuis 2008) nous démontrent que la réalité est contraire. Les délais de traitements ne cessent d‟augmenter. À Montréal, un demandeur de citoyenneté peut attendre entre 24 et 45 mois avant de recevoir une réponse. Si CIC a des questionnements sur votre demande, vous pourriez attendre encore plus longtemps et ce, sans en être informés par CIC. Dans cette situation, comme dans plusieurs autres, il est important de contacter mon bureau. Malgré que je ne puisse pas faire accélérer le traitement des dossiers, je peux vous informer sur l‟état de votre demande. De plus, dans certaines circonstances, je peux faciliter la communication avec les instances pertinentes chez CIC.

Notre travail ensemble continue. Malgré l‟approche de la saison estivale, ma porte demeure toujours ouverte. De plus, j‟espère avoir la chance de vous voir lors des nombreuses activités dans la circonscription pendant l‟été, tel que la Fête nationale du Québec sur le perron de l‟Église St – Cécile, au coin Henri – Julien et de Castelnau le 24 juin prochain.

À bientôt,

Justin P.J. Trudeau

Député de Papineau

Déclaration libérale à l’occasion de la clôture des Jeux paralympiques d’été de 2012

Posted on 9 septembre 2012

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 9 septembre 2012

MONTRÉAL— Le porte-parole libéral en matière d’études postsecondaires, de jeunesse et de sport amateur, Justin Trudeau, a fait la déclaration suivante aujourd’hui, à l’occasion de la clôture des Jeux paralympiques d’été de 2012 qui se sont déroulés à Londres :

« Maintenant qu’au terme de ces Jeux, nos athlètes rentrent au pays, ils devraient être très fiers de ce qu’ils ont accompli. Les membres d’Équipe Canada ont été pour nous une source d’inspiration, que ce soit par la résilience et la détermination dont ils ont fait preuve, les succès qu’ils ont remportés, les records personnels qu’ils ont établis ou leur présence sur le podium.

Durant ces Jeux paralympiques d’été, nos athlètes ont montré au monde entier l’esprit de compétition et le dévouement qui animent tout représentant du Canada.

Au nom du Parti libéral du Canada et de notre caucus parlementaire, je félicite tous nos athlètes et je remercie les organisateurs, les entraîneurs et les bénévoles qui ont rendu ces Jeux si mémorables. »

Déclaration libérale à l’occasion de l’ouverture des Jeux olympiques d’été de 2012

Posted on 28 juillet 2012

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 27 juillet 2012

MONTRÉAL— Le porte-parole libéral en matière d’études postsecondaires, de jeunesse, et de sport amateur, Justin Trudeau, a fait la déclaration suivante aujourd’hui à l’occasion de l’ouverture des Jeux olympiques d’été à Londres :

« Lorsque notre équipe olympique, dirigée par le porte-drapeau Simon Whitfield,  fera son entrée dans le stade pour les cérémonies d’ouverture aujourd’hui,  le Canada regardera ce moment avec beaucoup de fierté. Nous connaissons les sacrifices que représentent l’engagement, la persévérance et les années d’entraînement,  consentis par nos athlètes pour participer à cet événement. Nous savons qu’ils sont prêts à montrer au monde de quoi le Canada est capable.

Alors que nous attendons le début des événements, nous sommes impatients de voir nos athlètes passer à l’histoire, chacun porteur de récits marqués par l’adversité et les triomphes qui rassemblent tous les Canadiens et qui rendent les Jeux olympiques si spéciaux.

Au nom du Parti libéral du Canada et de notre caucus parlementaire, merci aux centaines d’entraîneurs, d’organisateurs et de bénévoles, et  la meilleure des chances à chacun de nos quelque 270 athlètes. On vous soutiendra jusqu’au podium! »

Bonne Fête Nationale! Bonne Fête du Canada!

Posted on 28 juin 2012

Bonne Fête Nationale! Bonne Fête du Canada! Meilleurs voeux à tous, célébrons notre histoire et notre fierté nationale.

Read more

Justin Trudeau a été nommé porte-parole du Parti Libéral du Canada en matière de jeunesse, d’études postsecondaires et de sport amateur.

Posted on 5 juillet 2011

Ottawa (Ontario) –Justin Trudeau a été nommé porte-parole du Parti Libéral du Canada en matière de jeunesse, d’études postsecondaires et de sport amateur. « C’est avec […]

Read more

Le Bloc choisit de ne pas aider les personnes âgées

Posted on 1 mai 2011

Il n’est pas question ici de questionner la légitimité d’un parti élu par la population. Mais est-ce qu’un parti qui « bloque » d’éventuelles négociations avec […]

Read more

Le vote des jeunes

Posted on 1 mai 2011

Read more

L’avenir de Parc-Extension

Posted on 10 avril 2011

Julie Lattès Ce document, destiné à guider les actions de la table de concertation, qu’est le RAMPE, pour les cinq prochaines années, comporte dix thématiques : espaces […]

Read more

Passer de 20 à 50 millions $ pour aider les sans-abri

Posted on 10 avril 2011

Agence QMI Josianne Desjardins 17/03/2011 17h01 MONTRÉAL – Le Réseau d’aide aux personnes seules et itinérantes de Montréal (RAPSIM) compte sur l’appui des députés de l’opposition […]

Read more

Les conservateurs brisent leur promesse aux nouveaux Canadiens en s’attaquant au programme de réunification des familles

Posted on 25 mars 2011

OTTAWA – Aujourd’hui, les libéraux ont accusé le gouvernement Harper de tourner systématiquement le dos aux nouveaux Canadiens en réduisant le nombre de visas émis en […]

Read more

Flickr

Next »

Contact us

Riding Office
529, rue Jarry est, bureau 302
Montréal (Québec) H2P 1V4
T: (514) 277-6020
E: trudeau.j@parl.gc.ca